LOGIN below using your ROAG # & Password / ID # :
Lookup Roag No 

Not a member? CLICK HERE to join ROAG now

RD Cycle | Westville M13 Road Race Classic

[image] 16 August 2018

Overall Rating  (You must be logged in to Rate the event - rating form after the article)

Written By: Tim Whitfield

Mike Viljoen claims Universal Networks M13 title

THE Bluff Meat Supply Team kept a tight control of the racing to set up Mike Viljoen for victory in the inaugural Universal Networks M13 Cycle Classic in Westville on Sunday.

With the assistance of his teammates, Viljoen was able to attack with about 25km of the 85km race remaining and first close down Asher Biggs, who had attempted a long solo breakaway, and then ride off to a 38-second victory with Biggs second and Austin Steyn third, five second further back.

For the first three laps out of five on the fast, wide open M13 highway, the Bluff team used their vastly superior numbers to keep a tight control on the racing, which allowed Viljoen to sit in the group until the second last time up the long M13 climb toward the finish.

Soon after the start of the third lap Biggs had managed to sprint clear in a long-range bid for glory and he opened a gap of about 40 seconds as the riders turned at Westwood Mall, at the base of climb that topped out just before the start-finish area, for the second last time.

With a lap and a half remaining, Viljoen set off to chase down Biggs while his teammates sat up and let him ride clear. It took almost a lap for Viljoen to catch the leader and then on the climb for the final time Biggs was unable to stay with his rival, allowing the eventual winner to crest the rise alone and cruise to the finish line to claim the win.

In the women's event Amber Schlebusch got the better of Bridget Theunissen in the final sprint for the women's win with Julian Bryant third.

In the competitive four-man team event, KZN's Best Pork Sausages team of Lyle Nielsen, Hein Kruger, Bryan Cusack and Calvin Matthew Louw won the veterans title and claimed overall victory, just edging out the Absolute Motion U23 team of Cian Leveridge, Wessel Swanepoel, Bevan Reddy and Joshua Francis by two seconds. The Expendables vets team of Jose Domingos Abreu, Jacques De Villiers Fourie, Casper Badenhorst and Ewan Cochran were third three minutes further back.

In the 51km race James Swart edged ahead on the final climb of their three-lap race and Rivers Braatvedt then outsprinted Warren Richardson for second.

The 17km one lap race saw Evan Moolman claim the win from Horter Mathew and Matthew Balmforth.


Provisional Results



1 Michael Viljoen 2:08:50

2 Asher Biggs 2:09:28

3 Austin Steyn 2:09:33

4 Bryan Powell 2:09:37

5 Reece Van Straaten 2:09:40

6 Ben De La Parte 2:09:40

7 Shane Daniel 2:09:42

8 Quentin Gordon 2:09:42

9 Michael Rowland 2:09:58

10 Travis Stedman 2:11:11


1 Amber Schlebusch 2:12:39

2 Bridget Theunissen 2:12:39

3 Julian Bryant 2:20:38

Team Open

1 Absolute Motion Open Men (Henry Liebenberg, Johandre' Marx, Jordan Wisdom, Callan Deacon) 2:22:05

2 Absolute Motion Open Ladies (Tiffany Keep, Chalita Johnson, Elmari De Wet, Azulda Britz) 2:32:32

3 Moolworths (Werner Moolman, Shayne Wadsworth, Isabel Moolman, Joel Wadsworth) 2:34:05

4 Team Cycle Lab KZN (Chad Griffin, Michael Parker, Ryan Naude, Franscois Goosen) 2:36:33

5 Ninja Bunnies (Andrea De Boer, Nadine Nunes, Brenda Potts, Christie-Leigh Hearder) 2:39:23

Team U23, U17 & Juniors

1 Absolute Motion U23 (Cian Leveridge, Wessel Swanepoel, Bevan Reddy, Joshua Francis) 2:14:46

2 KZN Young Rebels (Dean Gregson, Mitchel Potgieter, Warren Moolman, Reece Mc Callum) 2:30:46

Team Vets

1 Team KZN's Best Pork Sausages (Lyle Nielsen, Hein Kruger, Bryan Cusack, Calvin Matthew Louw) 2:14:44

2 The Expendables (Jose Domingos Abreu, Jacques De Villiers Fourie, Casper Badenhorst, Ewan Cochran) 2:17:39

1 Bring It On Racers (Angus McFarlane, Martin Atterbury, David Duke, Eugene Long) 2:18:01




1 James Swart 1:29:12

2 Rivers Braatvedt 1:29:17

3 Warren Richardson 1:29:17


1 Ainsli De Beer 1:36:27

2 Glynis Pretorius 1:40:18

3 Chantal Nosworthy 1:43:12


1 Unathi Nxumalo 1:29:17

2 Siyanda Gumede 1:29:17

3 Tsepo Koloko 1:29:43


1 Jimmy Shankland and Andrew Baker 1:44:49

2 Wendy Brown and Michael Brown 1:47:29

3 John Armstrong and Moira Armstrong 1:51:27




1 Evan Moolman 0:34:22

2 Horter Mathew 0:34:27

3 Matthew Balmforth 0:35:35


1 Makayla Saville 0:37:29

2 Suzanne Dos Santos Niz 0:38:00

3 Lisa Jane Maartens 1:01:34

Development Boys

1 Minenhle Thembela 0:35:02

2 Smangaliso Msomi 0:36:07

3 Mbuso Majola 0:39:04

Development Girls

1 Bridget Shalom 1:05:44

2 Thandolwethu Mhlongo 1:10:00

3 Aphelele Ndabeni 1:13:00

0 comment(s)